I want this PR position, but they say I do not have enough experience! What Now?


How often do I not hear these words.

So, what now?

Well, you have choices, and one of those is to think laterally or out-of-the-box about it.

Many years ago I studied PR only to find the market in my geographical area too small too absorb new students never mind interns. So what did I do?

Well I never lost sight of what I enjoyed, but I multiskilled in three other directions. In the meantime I studied and got involved in PR – more about PR, reading every bit I could lay my hands on – formal situations as well as informally. Today I find myself as a management consultant to the very PR Profession. All my other skills combined with PR I have been able to repack into the holistic field of Reputation Management.

That is the one thing – continuous learning and application – anywhere, anyway and anyhow , just like David Bowie sang.

Secondly – How do you get experience if no one wants to give you a chance? Let me use an example – What does a person do that have just been retrenched? Most people try and find similar work, a few start thinking laterally and apply their skills in other areas. With other words they think of themselves as walking skills portfolios – not just a label – a PR person.

So you have a number of options:

  1. Try to get into PR in the traditional way
  2. Use your PR skills in other areas
  3. Start your own PR thing – formally or informally. Thus get a job in another direction. Then offer your skills to non-profits etc. after hours that way you get the best of both worlds.

Remember George Bernard Shaw said: “Some people look at a situation and say why? I look at a situation and say Why not!” The Russian scientist Szyigorksi said “Discovery means to look at something that very one else sees and thinking something different”.

If I was a person in that position I would immediately read a book called Zen and the Art of Making a Living by Laurence G. Boldt – a brilliant piece of work combining both practical issues and mythology. If that book does not stimulate you in weird and wonderful ways to look at your career choice, few will.

